Update: Eco-Chic in Suburbia has moved…

to Kent, OH! I’m excited to share that I pursued and was offered a position at Kent State University – and I am SO happy to be here!

What does this mean for Eco-Chic in Suburbia? NADA! We are still in suburbia and will still be active in the Northeast Ohio area searching out green fun, earth-friendly deals, and pursuing a lifestyle that Mother Nature would be proud of.

Here are a few places that I am so excited to check out and will be sure to share with you as I explore my new community!

Lucky Penny Farm (already know that I am going to buy my christmas present to myself from here!)

  1. I adore goat cheese!
  2. This charming local creamery has already been on PBS and given props from Goose Island Beer Company.

Anu Eco-Salon

“Anu, pronounced an-oo, is the mother-Earth Goddess in Celtic tradition. She is the Goddess of fertility, prosperity, and comfort.” – from the Anu website

I can’t wait to try this place! Photos will be sure to follow. They also use Onesta products – certified by PETA (a very difficult certification to get).

Kent Natural Foods Co-Op

We have already explored this gem in Downtown Kent and I found one of my favorite products (I will share in a later post). Like most natural food shops/co-ops, the prices seem startlingly high compared to, oh say, Wal-Mart. However, as I was checked out various items in the store (fair trade coffee, organic produce, baking items), I did see that many prices are very fair – especially to support 1. a local institution and 2. to put healthier and pure food in your belly. I will definitely be checking out the wholesale cleaning and personal care products on my next trip!

Wild Goats Cafe

Its website states that they make as much food as possible from scratch – I can’t wait to see how true that is! Ever since Food Inc, I am more aware of the processed foods that I put in to my body. Eating on campus has made it difficult/impossible to avoid processed food so I am definitely looking forward to trying this gem!

Rehab Vintage

I LOVE vintage clothes for many reasons – upcycling, stylish, and just uber cute. I mean to go every weekend but I haven’t made it yet…

Reviews will be posted as I explore these eco-chic gems in Kent! I am so excited to add these to my to-do list. Please let me know if you have another eco-chic spot to recommend!

This entry was posted in Intro, Local NEO Businesses. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment