Eco-Chic Events in NEO 2/4-2/26/11

One of the best ways to get inspired to be eco-chic is to meet others who are living the eco-chic life! Or at least trying to…I love getting out in to the community and seeing how others are changing their lives in shades of green. Sometimes I glow. Literally, I get so overcome with meeting people who are just as passionate (or more) as I am about loving the earth and environment that I squeal. Ask Paul. And then I usually make awkward hand motions that signal just how cute I think things are…Maybe I will have Paul record them one day. Or mimic them…He’s good at that too LOL

One of my goals with this blog is to bring the Green Movement closer to the people…Sometimes events aren’t publicized very well due to budget issues. It can also be a hard community to find online or in the community. And sometimes it’s just hard to go to places by yourself for the first time…I’m planning on going to as many of these events as possible so there will usually be a friendly and new face in the crowd too! I haven’t connected with the Green Community in this area yet so I’m looking forward to learning about new resources, learning and teaching, and making new friends!

All Weekend

  • Great Big Home & Garden Show @ the I-X Center
    • I’ve never been but it looks like there are some natural/organic/eco-chic vendors here. Let me know what it’s like if you go!
  • Homecoming/Prom Clothing Drive all day @ Lake Anna YMCA in Barberton, OH
      • Put your oldies but goodies to great use by donating your old dance clothes and accessories to this great organization that helps teen girls who cannot afford these luxuries still look and feel great at their school dances. What an incredible way to recycle your memories!

Friday, February 4, 2011

Saturday, February 5, 2011

  • Akron Art Walk 5 PM – 10 PM @ Akron Glass Works
  • This City Reads’ Family Reading Festival 10 AM – 4 PM @ Akron Main Library
  • Countryside Winter Farmers Market 9 AM – 12 PM @ Old Trail School Bath, OH
  • Crystal Palace Hike 10 AM @ Gorge Metro Park, Cuyahoga Falls, OH
  • Beginning Cross-Country Ski Workshop 9:30 AM – 12:30 PM @ Cuyahoga Valley National Park, Kendall Lake Shelter, Pennisula, OH
  • Winter Farmers Market 9 AM – 12 PM @ 632 Temple Ave, Kent, OH
    • Lucky Penny Farm is co-hosting a winter farmers market! This just began on 1/8 so go out and give it lots of support so this fabulous resource can continue in our community! Pierogis, cheese, winter veggies, eggs, etc. I’m hoping to make it to this!

Sunday, February 6, 2011

Can’t wait to hear about your eco-chic fun this weekend! I’m working on an Eco-Chic Superbowl Party 101 guide for the weekend too…you know, if football is your thing!

This entry was posted in farmer's market, Green Events. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Eco-Chic Events in NEO 2/4-2/26/11

  1. Kim says:

    I’m glad you guys like the s’more bars! They disappeared fast here too, which isn’t so great as there were only 2 of us eating them, ha! I’m headed to the home show at I-X center tomorrow—I’ll be on the lookout for those booths!

  2. Great! I’m looking forward to hearing about the Home & Garden Show…I ran out of time to make it up there this weekend.

Leave a Reply

