Eco-Chic Events 4/1 – 4/3

It’s a busy weekend in NEO in the most eco-chic way possible! Quite a few fun and unique opportunities for you to explore your eco-chic side and support some local causes and businesses.

I’m super excited for my volunteer orientation over at the Happy Trails Farm Animal Sanctuary in Ravenna this weekend. Working with animals has always brought me joy so now I can combine it with my obsession with farm animals, especially baby ones!

I also need to finish up my Amy Butler Rain Coat…This is the most difficult item that I’ve tried to create but the pattern is easy to follow so I’m hoping it turns out wearable. A slow but steady process…

So between the raincoat and volunteer stuff, I’m hoping to hit up a few of these events!

Friday, April 1st

  • Growing Hope Food Summit begins with the movie “Fresh” tonight!
     

    • 7 PM @ St. Joseph’s Family Center, 610 W Exchange St, Akron, OH
      • Part of a two day event to help you learn how to become part of your local food system. I am dying to go to this but I’m on call for my job all day tonight and tomorrow.

Saturday, April 2nd

  • Lambing Days!
    • 9 – 11 AM @ Spicy Lamb Farm, 6560 Akron-Peninsula Rd, Peninsula, OH
    • The Spicy Lamb Farm has some new arrivals that you can visit! $5 per person or $20 per family.
    • If you know me, you know I LOVE baby animals. Since I’m oncall this weekend, I will definitely be checking this out later in the month!
  • Brunty Farms needs planters!Anyone interested in filling flats this weekend with tiny seeds come on over. Saturday… regardless of weather. Hot food, good beer, and always… lots of fun. Bonfire to follow Saturday night.
  • Farmer’s Share Breakfast
    • 8 AM – 11 AM @ Spring Garden Waldorf School, Copley, OH
    • $0.75 for local maple syrup, sausage, scrambled eggs, milk, and coffee. The price represents how much a farmer would be paid for producing these foods.
  • Growing Hope Food Summit
    • 9 AM – 2 PM @ St. Joseph’s Family Center, 610 W Exchange St, Akron, OH
    • Click the link for more info. Registration required!
  • Environmental Art Festival presented by Who’s Your Mama Festival
    • 7:30 PM – 10 PM @ North Water Street Gallery
    • 257 N Water St, Kent, OH
  • Kent Winter Farmers Market
    • 9 AM – 12 PM @ 632 Temple Ave, Kent, OH
    • I’m still working my way through all the CHEESE that I bought last week so I’m skipping this week…
  • Akron Vegan Bake Sale for Japan
    • 11 AM – 4 PM @ Vegiterranean, 21 Furnace St, Akron, OH
    • A fundraiser for tsunami survivors in Japan featuring all vegan treats!

Sunday, April 3rd

Upcoming Events – Get your calendar ready!

Monday, April 4th

  • How is Fair Trade is Shaping the Future?
    • 7 PM @ Hudson Library, 96 Library St, Hudson, OH
    • A Hudson, OH fair trade shop owner is speaking about the impact of fair trade products on the future. As a side note, I adore her shop.

Thanks to The 330 for gathering most of these events up in one place!

This entry was posted in Eco-Chic philanthropy, farmer's market, NEO Green Events. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

